2019 Barcelona Film Festival Winners

Congratulations to the 2019 Barcelona International Film Festival Winners and Official Finalists.

El Rey Awards

Grand Jury Prize Narrative Film:   CenterLine directed by Takumi Shimomukai

Grand Jury Prize Documentary: The Seer and the Unseen directed by Sara Dosa

Special Jury Prize Narrative Film: The Forest directed by Viktor Gasic

Special Jury Prize Documentary: Reinventing Rosalee directed by Lillian Glass

Special Jury Prize Screenplay: Something Inside Is Broken directed by Jack Kohler

El Rey Award for El Espíritu de España:SUDAMÉRICA – The Colors of Life directed by Dimitra Zirou

El Rey Award for Excellence in Cinematography: On the Fence directed by Luciana Caplan

El Rey Award for Excellence in Film Direction: Cerulean Blue directed by Adrian Ortega
El Rey Award for Excellence in Film Editing: Isabelle directed by Rob Heydon

El Rey Award for Excellence in Documentary Narrative Filmmaking: Afterward directed by Ofra Bloch
El Rey Award for Excellence in Documentary Short Filmmaking: Homefull directed by Sara Pérez
El Rey Award for Excellence in Dramatic Narrative: Anna Karenina directed by Yana Sar
El Rey Award for Excellence in Experimental Filmmaking: The Pines of Spring directed by Ann Huang

El Rey Award for Excellence in Short Filmmaking: Ascent directed by Mark Brocking

El Rey Award for Excellence in Music Video Production: IDNTT directed by Bettina D’mello & Dr. Khan

El Rey Award for Excellence in TV Commercial Production: Timeless Time directed by Lukas Kellner

El Ray Award for Excellence in TV Filmmaking: Half Vanilla directed by Nour Oubeid

El Rey Award for Excellence in Student Filmmaking: Dusk & Dawn directed by Chan Hee Kim

El Rey Award for Excellence in Animation: Anacronte directed by Raúl Koler, Emiliano Sette

El Rey Award for Excellence in Narrative Feature filmmaking: 

El Rey Award for Excellence in Viral Video Filmmaking: Lullaby Theories directed by Jonathan Lacocque, Clara Lehmann

ERey Award for Excellence in Narrative Short Filmmaking: Multifacial directed by Taz Skylar

The Gold Lion Awards

Tubgate: Cunningham's Scrap directed by Fraser Murdoch
#Bicyclediary directed by Sami Myllys
ABALON directed by Vahid Keshavarz
LOVE directed by Joel Cartier
Violet Hum directed by Tribambuka (Anastasia Beltyukova)
A Rose in Winter directed by Joshua Sinclair
Girl recruits her "God" directed by Ami Sakurai
Tales of the Baron directed by Joachim Rossel
It's in your hands directed by Alexandros Tsilifonis
Strowlers directed by Ben Dobyns & L. Gabriel Gonda

The Castell Awards

Quantum Earth directed by Frederic Eger
Gryphon Animo directed by Matthew Maloney
Extra Innings directed by Chris Bolan
Uzzi directed by Ido Weisman
Cuban Queens directed by Warren Bass
Indochine - Station 13 directed by Bouha Kazmi
Decapitalization directed by Zellner Pierre
Immortal Hero directed by Hiroshi Akabane
Luisa directed by Daniela Jud
Forest Lawn Gardener directed by Yun Xie

Official Finalists

Lion's Return directed by Thomas Bernecker
My trip to Japan directed by Dante Zaballa
Fine Lines directed by Dina Khreino
Toxitour directed by Raoni Maddalena
Square directed by Karolina Bregula
Summer On Lock directed by Noel Maitland
Magnetick Pathways directed by Edgar Pêra
Pale Blue Dot directed by Bobby Yothers
Birthday Girl directed by Ray Leday
Southwest Airlines - "Surprise?" Directed by Jeremy Nachbar

Screenplay Competition


Grand Jury Prize: The Fourth Psalm written by John Martins III

Special Jury Prize: Margot and Max written by Nia Ashley

1st Place: Hiding in the Spotlight written by B. R. Tatalovic 

2nd Place: Perry written by RJ Watson

3rd Place: Urraca written by Eva Everett Irving


Grand Jury Prize: The Princess' Life written by Mohamed Hbyaj & Faical Hlimi

Special Jury Prize: The Flock written by Andrew Griffin

1st Place: The Hotel written by Vassilis Kroustallis

2nd Place: Ebb | Tide | Flow written by Ignacio J. Durruty

3rd Place: ACHE written by LeLe Park



Grand Jury Prize: Casanova's Poetry Club written by Valerio Viale

Special Jury Prize: Real Jimmy, Real Gretchen written by Marie Biondolillo

1st Place: The Bliss Killer written by LeLe Park

2nd Place: Sangria written by Kristofer Seppälä

3rd Place: Transnational written by R C Arthur


Grand Jury Prize: Pulling the rug from under your feet written by Juan Carlos Guerra

Special Jury Prize: MANO written by Donald Ross

1st Place: Princess Coyote written by Johanna Falzone

2nd Place: The Duchess written by Marco De Ornellas

Official Finalists

The Ground Floor written by Claudia Domingues
Evening of the Evil Eye written by Angel Connell
Red Door, Black Door written by Zara Symes, Gabi Carpenter
Crossing the Rubicon written by Richard C Richter, Riley Adams
The Need for Something New written by John T. Frederick
Desert Quarry written by James Palmer
Little Things Mean a Lot written by Michael Monteith
A Little Peculiar written by Anna Weinstein
A Cloud written by Roger Delmont
Love and other Endangered Languages written by Rupalee Verma

Honorable Mentions

Mondays with Amy written by Roy Zafrani
Behind the Badge written by John Martins III
Misery Marcus written by Lucas Pavetto
Aktion T-4 written by John Martins III

Join Our Mailing List



Copyright Barcelona Film Awards. All rights reserved.

Follow Us

facebook twitter